Are cheese puffs gluten free?

The cheese puffs are perfect as an appetizer light meal or a side dish to your dinner meal. When you do not have another meal ready, or you are lazy to go to the nearest store for food, this is the perfect snack. It is also an ideal product when you are bonding with family or friends, as you can share them.

This article is going to discuss cheese puffs.

Are cheese puffs gluten free?

At least in the US, most of the cheese puffs are gluten free. However, much as the cheese puffs have been categorized as gluten free, there are a few challenges. Typical gluten free cheese puff would contain the following ingredients: jasmine rice, semi-soft cheese, Espelette pepper, and water. Creative Garden, Australia, recommends the following ingredients in making gluten free cheese puffs: cheese, gluten free flour, milk, ham, tomatoes, and mixed herbs.

For a gluten free diet, not all the flours will contain wheat, as it is often assumed. The market offers ample products that are gluten-free flours. These include the following: rice flour, coconut flour, millet flour, and sorghum flour.

The French cheese puffs can be made in a gluten free process. They are easy to make, and are made to impress. In addition to that, they can be used as a perfect appetizer prior to a meal. When you are making the French cheese puffs, all you need is a stand mixer accompanied by a paddle attachment or the hand mixer accompanied by double beaters.

However, some cheese products contain MSG and this can be an issue to those who have such sensitivity. In addition to that, some users of these products do report having intestinal problems. In other words, cheese puffs can be labeled GF and still get you sick.

It could be concluded that only some types of cheese are gluten free. The cheese has to come from cows which do not feed on gluten- cows which do not feed on corn dogs. It is worth noting that even if the Cheetos are presumed to come from cheese, they are not.

Having stated that, it is important you ask the store owner about the source of cheese, and in particular, how the cows graze. Similarly, the restaurant owner should be in a position to give you clear answers about the source of the cheese.

If you do react negatively to gluten, you need to be a careful reader of the labels in the packaging. Some companies do clearly indicate the status of the gluten. If you feel that this is not clearly indicated, there is no reason why you should not make a call to the company.

The US, Food and Drugs Administration, states that companies can use the word flour to mean wheat flour. As a matter of fact, the word flour denotes wheat flour. Whereas this may not have much significance, it can pose a big challenge to someone who wants a gluten free product. This is because wheat flour or whole wheat flour contain gluten. It is only when flour with words such as corn is listed as an ingredient should you assume that it is gluten free.

Another problem that complicates matters is that a product could be gluten free, but gets contaminated with gluten. This normally takes place at the time of harvesting. The equipment that is used in harvesting and milling is quite expensive. What happens is that farmers use the same equipment to harvest different types of crops. Therefore, products which are supposedly gluten free could get contaminated with gluten enough to affect people living with gluten sensitivity.

The taste of cheese is not something that you should miss out. Therefore, if you feel that a certain type of cheese is not the right choice for you, then you should consider vegan cheese. This is a variety which has a very good taste. However, this type of cheese can be very difficult to obtain and can be very expensive. That notwithstanding, the vegan cheese is worth the cost and the effort.

Cheese puffs nutrition facts

Nutrition factsCheetos Cheese puffs
Units1 Serving (13 pieces)
Total Fat10g
Vitamin A0mcg
Vitamin C0mg
Iron0.4 mg

Is the cheese puffs good for you?

Cheese puffs do not have a good reputation when it comes to enhancing health. However, you will be surprised to learn that these products can still be healthy. Cheese puffs contain the following: calories, total fat, saturated fat, sodium, carbohydrates, protein, vitamins and minerals, fatty acids, and amino acids.

It is estimated that cheese puffs contain 270mg Sodium. Whereas a high level of salt is bad for your health, a moderate level of salt will be very beneficial for your health. According to Medline Plus, salts play a critical role in controlling the blood pressure and the volume of blood.

Cheese puffs are known to trigger a craving. When it comes to cravings, you should not suppress them. Rather, you should work towards understanding what causes the craving and satisfy it. For example, if you have cravings for cheese puffs, you could be having some deficiencies, fats for instance.

If you are taking a long and adventurous road trip, the cheese puffs should be your friend. This is more so if you are going to bring your children along. Cheese puffs are highly appealing to the children due to their taste and color.

However, just like any other snack, it is important that the consumption of cheese puffs is done in moderation. This is because cheese puffs have a high concentration of calories, fat, and sodium.


Despite the reservations about cheese puffs, they are an excellent source of protein and calcium, as well as other nutrients. With taking cheese puffs, you can prevent or manage osteoporosis, heart disease, and weight loss. Cheese puffs are delicious, affordable, and they are easy to obtain. There are online recipes of making cheese puffs at home, if you have the time to do so. Again, if you have gluten sensitivity, you are safe with cheese puffs, or at least some types of the cheese puffs. Overall, the cheese puffs are a delicious and healthy snack if used in the right way.

Leave a Comment