Are cheetos gluten free?

Cheetos is one of the most favorite snacks all over the world. These cheese flavor snacks are a go-to for everyone. The best part is, it is not only limited to one product there are many! There are hot Cheetos, baked Cheetos, & many more. The popularity of Cheetos has even given birth to many recipes online.

Similarly, just like Cheetos, nowadays, the gluten-free diet has risen in popularity because of various reasons related to health & fitness. Since a gluten-free diet is as popular as Cheetos, one might be curious to know, “Are Cheetos gluten free?”

This article is a helpful guide for someone confused about whether Cheetos are gluten-free or not.

What are Cheetos?

If someone has ever consumed Cheetos, they can associate it with the orange-color powder & its cheesy flavor. Cheetos are popular cracker snacks with cheese flavor made by Frito-Lay. These aren’t only limited to one flavor & texture, there are many varieties starting from Cheeto puffs to baked Cheetos.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a naturally occurring protein in various grains like wheat, rye, semolina, barley, etc. They help in binding all the ingredients together & act as glue. The springiness of bread comes from this very protein. Though this doesn’t have harmful effects associated with it, some people with celiac diseases can face various problems if they consume it.

Why should you consider gluten free diet?

As mentioned before, generally, people who have various medical conditions consider switching to a gluten-free diet. The top three reasons for switching to a gluten-free diet are mentioned below:

  1. People with celiac disease consume a gluten-free diet to protect their small intestines from further damage.
  2. People with dermatitis herpetiformis follow a gluten-free diet to avoid painful rashes & potential risk of intestinal cancer.
  3. People who have gluten sensitivity & are unable to digest the protein properly tend to make a switch.

How to know whether your food is gluten-free?

The simplest way to know whether the food one is consuming has gluten in it or not is by reading the label for ingredients. Generally, it is clearly mentioned on the product whether it is a gluten-free product or not but sometimes, it could be hard to decipher with no clear words.

Some of the most common ingredients having gluten are- durum, bulgur, barley, malt, graham flour, wheat starch, oatmeal, semolina, wheat germ, wheat flour, wheat bran, etc. Some uncommon ingredients that have gluten are- Fu, Farina, Emmer, Einkorn, Atta, etc. There are many food items that have gluten in them & are consumed on a daily basis. Though there are gluten-free alternatives for them, it is best to check multiple times. Some of these food items are- Soy Sauce, Seasonings, Sauces, Sausages, Marinades, Hot Dogs, Gravies, Deli meats, Processed Foods, pasta, Salad Dressings, Medications, Cereals, Bread, licorice, etc.

Ingredients present in Cheetos

To know whether a product has gluten in them, it is best to read the ingredient list. So, the ingredient list of Cheetos is mentioned below:

Salt, Artificial Color, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Monosodium Glutamate, Concentrate of Whey Protein, Artificial & Natural Flavors, Maltodextrin, Canola Oil, Cheese Seasoning, Vegetable Oil, Enriched Corn Meal. It also contains ingredients with milk.

Are Cheetos gluten free?

The answer to the most-awaited question is a loud yes! Cheetos are completely gluten free. If the ingredients list is read carefully, it could be easily found that none of the ingredients present in Cheetos have gluten in them. Even the company that produced Cheetos, Frito Lay, has released a statement that their products are either gluten-free or have ingredients that have no gluten in them.

Cheetos nutritional facts

Nutrition factsCheetos Crunchy Cheese SnacksCheetos Flamin’ Hot Crunchy SnacksCheetos Cheddar Popcorn
Units21 pieces (28g)21 pieces (28g)2 cups (28g)
Total Fat10g11g11g
Vitamin D0mcg0mcg0mcg

Are hot Cheetos gluten free?

One of the most popular variants of Cheetos is the hot Cheetos. The hot & slightly spicy flavor is a dream come true for spice lovers. Some of those people who love this product might have wondered. “Are hot Cheetos gluten free?” The answer to that musing is also a big yes! Since all the ingredients are more or less the same in Cheetos & hot Cheetos, it can easily be concluded that both are gluten-free. The only additional ingredient in hot Cheetos is the blend of spicy flavoring, which is also gluten-free! So, anyone who was dubious about hot Cheetos having gluten in them can now easily munch on this tasty snack!

Are baked Cheetos gluten free?

Baked Cheetos are one of the most popular snacks in the line that provide a different texture than the original ones. And just like the other products in the line, baked Cheetos are also considered gluten-free. It is also listed in the official statement of Frito-Lay as a gluten-free product.

Are flamin hot Cheetos gluten free?

Flamin hot Cheetos are somewhat similar to the hot Cheetos but a tad bit spicier. It is noted by the consumers that flamin hot Cheetos acts fast while hot Cheetos has a slow build-up. Since both of these products have similar qualities & ingredients, it is safe to say that flamin hot Cheetos are also gluten-free. It is also listed as gluten-free in the list provided by PepsiCo.

Are Cheeto puffs gluten free?

Cheeto puffs provide the consumer with a puffy texture combined with the famous cheese flavor Cheetos are known for. It is one delicious snack to munch on. Just like the other Cheetos, Cheeto puffs are also gluten-free as they are mentioned in the list of gluten-free products provided by PepsiCo. So, they are safe to be consumed by someone on a gluten-free diet.


This article tried to help & guide those people who have recently switched to a gluten-free diet & are overwhelmed by all the things that they need to consider while following the restrictions associated with the diet. By reading this article, it could be easily concluded that Cheetos are safe to be consumed by people following a gluten-free diet, they don’t have to give up on one of their favorite snacks of all time! Isn’t that great?

Leave a Comment