Are snack a jacks healthy?

Snack a jacks are one of the healthy snacks in the UK. These are made of rice and maize. You can get these snacks in five flavours. It is available in 3 pack sizes. Singles are the smallest packs. You can also get multi and jumbo packing if you want more snacks. Every pack of snack a jacks comes with detailed information about ingredients and caloric content. We have compiled a detailed guide to help you decide if these snacks are suitable for you.

Are snack a jacks healthy?

Snack a jacks is a healthy snack because it has less than 8 per cent fat-based ingredients. It is hard to find healthy snacks as most of them contain hidden salt, sugar, or fats. You should get a snack with all the ingredients and caloric content mentioned on the packaging. It will help you stay healthy.

Healthy ingredients

These snacks use the same ingredients like rice cakes. The company takes rice and maize and adds flavours. Rice cakes are soft but these snacks are crispy. The manufacturer uses advanced processes and technology to remove most of the moisture from the snacks to make them crispy. It is a famous snack without hidden content. There is no way they can hide extra sugar and salt in the snacks.

Caloric content

Every pack of the snack a jacks has provided the details of the caloric content. Some companies do not advertise the caloric content details because their product falls in the unhealthy snack category. Every snack in a jack flavoured pack does not have the same caloric content. The sweet chilli flavour pack has 96 calories. Sour cream flavour has 93 calories in one pack. All the details are available on the top of the pack. It is a healthy snack because the company focuses on the caloric content details. Each bag has 23 grams of snacks. As the snacks have a larger volume, they will also satisfy your appetite.

Are snack a jacks vegan?

Snack a jacks is a perfect snack for the vegan people because it has all the ingredients from plant sources. Some snacks claim to be suitable for vegans because they use plant-based ingredients as the main source. These snacks may have animal-based ingredients in the flavours and fats. It is essential to have plant-based ingredients and fry the snacks in plant-based oil if you want them suitable for vegans.

Ingredient analysis

After a detailed analysis of all the ingredients of this snack, we can say with confidence that there are no animal products in the snack a jacks. Rice and maize are the main ingredients of this snack. It also has chilli and colouring ingredients from the plants. They use sunflower oil to make these snacks. It is a plant-based oil. You can be sure that you are eating vegan-friendly snacks as they do not use animal products during the processing.

Snack a jacks ingredients

Taking the SWEET CHILLI FLAVOUR RICE & CORN SNACK as example, the ingredients are:

  • Rice
  • Maize (with germ removed)
  • Sweet Chilli Flavour
    • Dextrose
    • Flavourings
    • Sugar
    • Salt
    • Rice Flour
    • Tomato Powder
    • Onion Powder
    • Garlic Powder
    • Hot Paprika
    • Acid (Citric Acid)
    • Cayenne Pepper
    • Colour (Paprika extract)
  • Sunflower Oil.

Snacks a jacks flavors

The Snack a jacks flavors available on their official website are:

  • Sweet Chilli
  • Sour Cream & Chives
  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Caramel
  • Cheese
  • Choc Chip
  • Mini Yogurt
  • Mini Chocolate

Snack a jacks nutritional facts

Nutrition factsSour Cream & ChiveSalt & VinegarCaramel
Units23g Pack23g Pack30g Pack
Total Fat1.7g1.7g0.9g
Dietary Fiber0.3g0.2g0.2g

Are snack a jacks gluten free?

It is not a gluten-free product because the company uses whole grains to make snacks. When you want to make something gluten-free, you need to process the grains and remove gluten before using them to cook the snacks. They take special care to avoid gluten contact with the utensils also. Snack a jacks are made from whole grains. Grains can contain some gluten. The company mention on all the packs that the snacks are not suitable for people with gluten allergy. When you see at the back of the pack, you will find a message. It says that these snacks are made in a factory that also handles wheat, gluten, and mustard. Some people think that glutens is an animal product. It is not true as gluten is a part of wheat grains.

You can check the gluten in the product by checking the label. Food and Drug Administration makes it mandatory for all the approved brands to mention the presence of gluten. If the product has a label that says it contains wheat, it also has gluten. You can also check the product details on the FDA website. Many other websites also research to provide the product details.

Are snack a jacks crisps?

Snack a jacks is a form of crisps because it is made from rice and maize for a snack that produces a crispy sound when you eat it. Most people think that crisps are only made of potatoes. You need to improve your definition of the crisps if you want to understand why added snacks a jacks in the crisps category. There is a different definitions of crisps around the world. People in the UK use the word crisps in place of the chips.

These are thin chips that make a crisp sound when you eat them. Other snacks that resemble the chips are also known as the crisps. Snack a jacks are made from rice and maize starch. Chips are also a product of the thin layer of potato starch. If your definition of crisps cannot have any other product than potatoes, you cannot include the snack the jacks in this category.

Do snacks a jacks contain nuts?

Snack a jacks is not suitable for people with nut allergies because the company does not claim to be nut-free. Some people have severe nut allergies. Eating the nuts will cause an allergic reaction in these people. Skin itching, throat blockage, eye redness, and hives are the common symptoms of the allergic reaction due to nuts. It is better to call the emergency services if you have breathing difficulty after eating snacks containing nuts.

When you check the product description on the snack a jacks packing or the website, you will find a message that it has nuts. They mention that this product is made in a factory that deals with nuts, peanuts, sesame, and mustard. If you are allergic to any of these contents, you should not eat the snack a jack. You should only use the products with nut-ingredient free certification to ensure you do not get allergic reactions.

Leave a Comment