McDonald’s Shamrock shake is finally back. Plenty of customers appreciated the arrival of the minty shake and its Oreo flavored counterpart. If it’s your first time trying a shamrock shake, you’re probably curious about the taste and what it’s made of.
- Is a shamrock shake gluten free?
- Which shamrocks shake contains gluten?
Is a shamrock shake gluten free?
Shamrock shakes are gluten-free and thus safe for people with celiac disease. The only ingredient listed as an allergen is milk. And because the shakes are served in a cup, it’s unlikely that they will be contaminated with other foods.
But here is the catch. Some manufacturers add ingredients like wheat to smoothen the shakes. Other key things to consider are the base ice cream and the type of flavoring. To avoid any guesswork, you should read the labels.
What is in Mcdonald’s shake?
Mcdonald’s now offers the original shake alongside makeovers like chocolate shamrock shake and shamrock sundae. The original shake features a mint-flavored syrup, vanilla ice cream, and whipped cream.
A shamrock shake consists of:
|Nutrition facts||Mcdonalds shamrock shake (Medium)|
|Units||1 Serving of 449g|
|Vitamin A||20% DV|
You’re probably wondering where the green color comes from. The green hue is a combination of blue 1 and yellow 5. This is generally referred to as shamrock shake syrup. The other common ingredients are whipped light cream and vanilla reduced fat ice cream.
Vanilla reduces fat in ice cream
The common ingredients are corn syrup, cream, sugar, cellulose gum, mono and diglycerides, guar gum, vitamin A palmitate, carrageenan, and natural flavors.
Whipped light cream
It contains 2% mono and diglycerides, carrageenan, liquid sugar, nonfat milk, cream, nitrous oxide, and liquid sugar.
Shamrock shake syrup
The key ingredients are corn syrup, mono and diglycerides, carrageenan, guan gum, milk, sugar, cellulose gum, and vitamin A palmitate.
Nutrition facts (1 small shake):
|Nutrition facts||Mcdonalds shamrock shake (Small)|
|Units||1 Serving of 337g|
|Vitamin A||15% DV|
Nutrition (large shamrock shakes):
|Nutrition facts||Mcdonalds shamrock shake (Large)|
|Units||1 Serving of 695g|
|Vitamin A||30% DV|
In 2020, McDonald’s released the Oreo Shamrock McFlurry – it’s a popular flavor to celebrate. The original shamrock shake in the 70s featured lemon-lime sorbet instead of mint. This was meant to commemorate St. Patrick’s Day. The seasonal shake became a success and helped to generate funds to open the first Mcdonald’s house in 1974.
The mint version later followed in 1983. Today, the shakes are a popular menu item, and fans are excited to see them.
The real flavor of shamrock shakes
The original color was mint but was not always minty. The green syrup is only available during the spring season.
Today, it contains artificial flavorings. The medium size gives 730 calories. If you’re on a strict diet, this is not what you want to take every day.
Which shamrocks shake contains gluten?
Maybe you’re feeling the urge to make a traditional treat. But the problem is, you’re yet to find allergy-friendly substitutions. Shamrock shakes do not contain rye and wheat.
This brings us to the question, is Oreo shamrock McFlurry gluten-free? The answer lies in the ingredient list. MMcFlurry has three components: shamrock McFlurry syrup, reduced fat ice cream, and Oreo cookie pieces.
The key ingredients for Oreo cookie pieces are wheat flour, reduced iron, and niacin (unbleached enriched flour). They also contain riboflavin, folic acid, and vitamin B1 commonly referred to as thiamine mononitrate. Other ingredients are cocoa, canola oil, sugar, soy lecithin, chocolate, invert sugar, and natural flavor.
Vanilla reduces ice cream
The main ingredients are guar gum, cellulose gum, corn syrup, mono and diglycerides, milk, sugar, cream, and vitamin A palmitate.
Shamrock McFlurry syrup
The main ingredients are glycerin, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, xanthan gum, citric acid, and sodium benzoate.
In terms of nutrition, Oreo shamrock McFlurry gives about 560 calories, 12 grams of protein, 16 grams of fat, and 68 grams of sugar. Some people argue that this is not the best option for those looking for gluten-free options because of the presence of Oreo cookie pieces.
While Mcdonald’s uses soft-serve, the toppings are gluten-free. Generally, cookie crumbs and candies should be avoided if you’re looking for a gluten-free diet.
Should I take shakes with gluten if I have celiac disease?
If you have celiac disease, you can still find gluten-free shakes. Stay away from those with toppings that contain wheat. Generally speaking, gluten is a protein that naturally occurs on wheat, barley, and rye. If you have been diagnosed with celiac disease, you should make the correct ingredient choices to enjoy a gluten-free shake every time.
Can you make a gluten-free shamrock shake at home?
Yes. If you have celiac disease, you can enjoy a shamrock shake all year round. There are plenty of recipes to follow to ensure you make a gluten-free drink. The basic ingredients are vanilla ice cream, green food dye, and milk cream. And depending on the taste you want, you can add vanilla syrup or maple syrup.
To make a shamrock shake that satisfies your craving, you should consider ingredients like:
- Coconut milk
- Fresh baby spinach – discard the stems
- Peppermint milk
- Maple syrup
Simply mix the ingredients in a blender such that there are no visible particles. You should churn for about 15 minutes. Avoid freezing too much to maintain consistency.
Green shamrock shakes
McDonald’s has green shamrock shakes that are peanut-free, gluten free, soy-free, and egg-free. But again, the daily sub may potentially contain ingredients with allergens. To make a green shamrock shake, you should follow a simple recipe.
The basic ingredients can be found in almost any grocery store.
- Vanilla ice cream
- Two cups of milk or a dairy alternative
- Two tbsp. of mint extract
- Whipping cream
- Green decorating sugar garnish
First, you should combine ice cream, mint, food coloring, and milk. Next, pour in serving glasses with whipped cream. You may want to sprinkle a few cherries on top.
Mcdonald’s Shamrock shakes are crunchy, creamy, and minty. They are gluten-free and can suit folks with celiac disease.