Is mcdonalds ice cream gluten free?

There’s no reason why you should not enjoy an ice cream at your favorite joint. While a majority of single ice cream flavors are gluten-free, others contain gluten, like Cheese Cake, Cookie Dough, and Birthday Cake. If you suffer from celiac disease, you should pay attention to additional starches, flavorings, and toppings with gluten. But again, there’s a high risk of cross-contamination.

Is McDonalds ice cream gluten free?

The single ice cream flavors at McDonald’s are gluten-free. They are served in a cup, so there’s less risk of cross-contamination. Flavors like strawberry, vanilla, and chocolate as well as Moose Tracks and Rocky Road are gluten-free.

Today, McDonald’s ice creams form more than 60% of their dessert menu. They are delicious, incredibly versatile, and keep getting better.

Is soft serve vanilla gluten-free?

You can only tell if your ice cream is gluten-free based on how it’s processed. Common flavors like chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry are gluten-free. However, they can get into contact with scoops or spoons which may contain gluten.

The common ingredients for McDonald’s vanilla ice cream are milk, sugar, natural flavor, corn syrup, Cellulose, Vitamin A Palmitate, diglycerides, guar gum, and cream. The flavors go beyond the traditional ones.

One interesting fact about vanilla ice cream is that it keeps well at -18 degrees Celsius.

Mcdonald’s ice cream nutritional facts

Nutrition factsMcdonald’s Vanilla Ice Cream ConeMcDonald’s – Kiddie Cone
Units1 Cone1 Cone
Total Fat5g1g
Vitamin D0mcg0mcg

Can I eat ice cream if I have celiac disease?

If you have celiac disease, you should eat products with gluten-free certification. You may have noticed a McDonald’s joint in your area. It’s probably one of the best places to eat without worrying about your health. Their ice cream does not come into contact with nuts, crackers, chips, etc. You should always watch out for a few problem areas.

McDonald’s massive recipe changes

When the food chain store made some changes in their recipes, very few people noticed. In 2017, McDonald decided to get rid of the artificial flavors.

The soft serve was already free from preservatives, so the changes affected the artificial flavorings. The management worked with the culinary team, so the taste is positively impacted.

You might be able to get the ice cream much easier than ever

There’s some good news for ice cream lovers. The machines will feature a remote brain that is controlled by a smartphone. It’s smart – so it will dictate whether it’s underfilled or overfilled. Plus, it’s possible to tell if there’s a problem with the machine. The early tests look promising.

Are all ice creams gluten-free?

Ice creams are gluten-free if they contain natural ingredients like cream, sugar, milk, or eggs. The vanilla shake is a classic mixture of vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. If you’re on a budget, the vanilla shake is a great choice.

Tips for ordering gluten-free dining at McDonald

Mcdonald’s has an option of offering safe food options compared to other fast-food restaurants. They give all the nutritional information, and the production methods are standardized. This makes it one of the best places to enjoy a meal or a snack. If you have a gluten-free option in mind, your experience will even be more enjoyable.

Know the ingredients

You can check Mcdonald’s gluten-free menu options that suits specific dietary needs. While the ingredients for the ice cream can change from time to time, they always disclose what they use. They also post a list of allergens at the end of the list. If you have to order ice cream, you’ll get an accurate and up-to-date list.

Consider the soft ice cream

A good example is the reduced vanilla fat ice cream. It’s served in a cup, so it’s unlikely to come into contact with other foods. Another basic flavor is chocolate.

McDonald’s ice cream is made with a soft-serve machine. It mixes at specific degrees to bring out the signature texture and the right temperature. This is what gives it an even creamier texture.

Get a cup not corn

McDonald’s ice cream is served in cups to ensure there’s no contamination. Unless you’re lactose intolerant, ice cream can also be the base ingredient for your milkshake.

Unfortunately, some servers use the same spoons to serve gluten-free flavors as well as safe flavors.

Avoid the toppings

Unless you get a fresh container at the back or the toppings, you’re better off when you skip them. One unique thing with McDonald’s is that they don’t have unhealthy topping options. They avoid toppings like caramel, hot fudge, cookie dough, whipped cream, Oreos, and hard chocolate coating.

Approach with caution

You have no reason not to make an occasional trip to McDonald’s if you have celiac disease. With a careful approach, you can choose your foods wisely. Unlike other food stores, all ingredients are sourced from approved suppliers. Plus, they comply with safety and quality standards. If you plan, you could bring your gluten-free toppings.

The ice cream should be scooped from a fresh container

The main reason for this is to prevent cross-contamination. You may not get all the flavors you want, but you can be sure it’s gluten-free.

Does McDonald use real ice cream?

Yes. There are no artificial ingredients or flavors that can rob the ice cream of its natural flavor. You must check their ingredients to ensure there’s a gluten-free label.

Why you should avoid ice cream with gluten

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley. It’s also common in pizza, pasta, bread, and cereals. People with gluten intolerance can develop inflammation in the stomach. If you have this condition, it’s hard to maintain a gluten-free diet. Of course, even those who are yet to be diagnosed with the problem can embrace such foods.

If you have celiac disease, you should avoid ice cream with gluten. Every time you take ice cream with gluten, you will experience bloating or diarrhea.


Mcdonald’s offers many mouthwatering foods on its menu. However, not everything will sit well with your health. If you’re living gluten-free or suffering from celiac disease, you should be picky about what you eat or drink. For those who want to taste McDonald’s ice cream without compromising their health, then vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate flavors are a good fit. These flavors are free of ingredients that contain gluten.

Related articles

Leave a Comment