Is Starbucks Oat Milk Gluten Free?

With the move away from dairy to plant-based products, many people are also gluten intolerant and vegan.

Oat milk is the latest introduction to Starbucks and people love it, with the main question being is Starbucks oat milk gluten free?

Because you will want to try it and are gluten intolerant, we are going to take a closer look at the product to see if it is suitable for you, and thousands of others like you, as it is sometimes hard to sift through the information alone. Fortunately, Starbucks does have an allergen menu making it a good starting point for research.

Starbucks Allergen Menu

The four quadrants of the Allergy chart menu offer.

  • Nut-free
  • Soy-free
  • Wheat and Gluten-free
  • Top 8 allergen-free products

However, nothing about oat milk as yet, and we require wider investigation into the product.

On approaching Starbucks, oat milk is now available and apparently extremely popular, but the bad news is that it may not be gluten-free.

Starbucks says that there could be a risk of cross-contamination and for now you will have to avoid the oatmeal latte.

Gluten Intolerance

Some food standards prohibit the use of ‘gluten-free’ claims on any product containing oats, and instead ask for the label wheat-free to be used, as it is considered more specific. Pure oats ( uncontaminated), are safe for people with gluten intolerance, however, the problem arises when processing takes place, as wheat substances may be present leading to cross-contamination. So for now, for people with Celiac disease, the advice is Starbucks oat milk gluten free should be avoided, as contamination could well be present exacerbating their condition.

Starbucks Gluten Free Drinks

  • Hot chocolate
  • Berry Kiss Hot Chocolate
  • Chai Tea Latte and Iced Tea Latte
  • Misto
  • Cappuccino/Iced Cappuccino
  • Americano
  • Cafe Mocha
  • Caramel Macchiato

As you can see there are plenty of drinks to choose from, including seasonal coffees ( the ones that change). This is all documented so as a person with gluten intolerance, you are quite safe to go to Starbucks as long as you make careful choices.

Children are sometimes gluten intolerant, and it can be harder to guide their choices. The hot chocolate is fortunately gluten-free, or choose from one of Horizon’s juices that are pre-packaged and you don’t need to worry about contamination. Starbucks has so many healthy choices for kids.

How is Oat Milk Made

Oat milk was first documented in the 13th century, so it is a very old and easy recipe. All we need to do to make it at home is to combine 1 cup of oats with 2 cups of water in the blender. To make it nice and cold add some ice cream. Of course, if you have gluten intolerance use the pure oats that are recommended as wheat and gluten-free.

Many vegans choose oat milk, and those who are lactose intolerant find it a perfect milk substitute. Some people have soy milk, but look for a change, as soy is not always the best choice when making cappuccino, and they now use oat milk instead. The modern form of oat milk came from Sweden in 1990, and every cup of 8 oz contains 3 grams protein, 5 grams fat, and 16 grams of carbohydrate.

Oat Milk for Baristas

Being a Barista is highly skilled work, and when you ask, is Starbucks oat milk gluten free? They may have a new weapon, the Barista Edition oat milk is based on pure liquid oats and is not overly sweet or heavy, and better still it froths beautifully, something that doesn’t happen with most soy milk. It is also something that you can try at home, as it comes from pure oats.

Finding the Right Gluten Free Oat Milk

If you are gluten sensitive, even a trace of gluten can exacerbate your condition making you unwell and setting up intestinal inflammation.

Because of all the bread/wheat options, it is a good idea to avoid Starbucks for lunch, but you will be absolutely safe going there for breakfast.

with eggs, fruit, quinoa, and honey. Starbucks is always updating its customer services, and with plenty of drinks to choose from, you will get a highly nutritious breakfast for a low price.

Oat Milk for Kids

Some children have several food intolerances and can be gluten, soy, and lactose intolerant at the same time.

Choosing pure oat milk for them means that they will get good nourishment without any of the wheat or soy products, as pure oats don’t contain wheat.

The best idea is to ask your dietician to recommend the best brand for you, however, you will still be able to go to Starbucks for breakfast as the allergy menu points you in the right direction.

Children have high nutritional needs and the oat milk will provide them with nutrients, like vitamins and minerals that they could otherwise miss out on. Children who develop gluten intolerance early can have a poor ability to absorb nutrients when not diagnosed early and need to catch up on nutrition.

Healthline has a good recipe for oat milk that is safe to make at home in the blender, however, consult the dietician first where children are concerned. The oat milk that you make at home can be stored in the refrigerator for 5 days, so you won’t need to make it every day.

It is also a good source of calcium providing 20% of daily requirements. If you are an adult and have a family history of osteoporosis, it is a good idea to consume oat milk to help build strong bones, as part of a balanced diet.


When you go along to Starbucks if you have a gluten intolerance always check out the allergen menu, as new things are added to it every month. This allows the customer variety, not found in most places, sadly many food outlets tend to ignore most food allergies, and you can’t afford that to happen to you.

So when you ask is Starbucks oat milk gluten-free? No, but they do go out of their way to provide alternatives for you, and enough information to make an informed choice.

Similar articles

Leave a Comment