Why are mcdonald’s fries not vegan?

Up to this point, who does not know what Mcdonald’s is? It is practically anywhere you go and since it is one of the giants of the fast-food industry, there is a good chance that you might end up trying any of its offerings at least once in your life. Just like many other fast-food chains, everyone knows that their products might not be as healthy as others but they sure are tasty and addictive, especially their french fries which have been one of the reasons why this chain is still at the top. However, vegan products have been becoming extremely popular nowadays, and that is a good thing as it will be possible to live a healthier life thanks to the consumption of healthy vegan food.

When it comes to the Mcdonald’s fries, it is well known that they are not vegan, but how is this even possible? Are not potatoes a natural product? Well surely they are but this time the situation is a little bit different than usual. Before thinking that you are consuming a vegan product, it would be wise to check the food more in detail to determine if it is safe or should be avoided. The next article will focus on discussing: Why are Mcdonalds Fries not Vegan?

Why are Mcdonalds Fries not Vegan?

Believe it or not, in the past, there have been certain legal issues with this topic as many individuals believed that these fries were vegan for well… being fries made of potatoes. However, the situation is different as Mcdonald’s relies on the usage of certain ingredients that are not vegan by any means, making the food taste greater but be less healthy. It might be true that plant-based solutions are becoming more popular, but there are still millions of people who did not want to sacrifice the addictive flavor of their favorite foods, even if it means living a healthier life.

Mcdonald’s fries are not vegan (They offer a vegan version in UK) and this is for relying on the usage of milk and beef flavoring, making the fries contain animal derivated products, something that is not well seen by vegans. In the past, the company decided to switch the beef flavoring with animal lard, but this backfired pretty quickly as the signature flavor was gone, and thus they decided to move back to beef flavoring thanks to the multiple customer complaints.

Keep in mind that this is happening in the great majority of McDonald’s around the world, so it is safe to say that you should feel extremely lucky if your local McDonald’s has any kind of vegan offerings. However, due to the massive feedback, the company has been thinking of introducing a new product called the McPlant which relies on vegan products.

Natural Beef Flavor in Fries

The main problem with these fries is the fact that they have a natural beef flavor in their composition, and this is something that is required in order to enhance their taste and unique texture. But if this flavor is added, then could not be possible to just ask them to remove it in your order? Sadly, this is not the case as the beef flavor is added in the processing plant where potatoes go through par-frying, meaning that it is something that can not be removed once in the restaurants.

But wait, it gets worse. Not only natural beef flavor can be found, but these fries also use hydrolyzed milk which just makes everything worse for those who wanted to look for a vegan option, and not only that, since the fries are the most popular item in the chain, you should not be expecting any change on the recipe as this could mean millionaire losses to their business.

Luckily, there is still hope for these fries as they are not soaked in animal fat, so it is not that bad when compared to other approaches and similar offerings that can be found in other fast-food chains. In fact, the fries are cooked in a non-hydrogenated blend of oils that include sunflower and soybean oil.

Does McDonald’s Offer any Kind of Vegan Product?

This is a question that might receive different kinds of answers as while the great majority of McDonald’s do not have vegan offerings other than the almost hidden apple slices, in certain countries like India and the United Kingdom it is possible to find a good range of vegan options for those who prefer this approach for their diet.

The UK Mcdonalds offer the follow vegan foods:

  • McPlant
  • The Spicy Veggie One
  • Side salad
  • Veggie Dippers
  • McDonald’s Fries (Yes Mcdonalds Vegan fries)
  • Hash Brown
  • Carrot Bag
  • Apple & Grape Fruit Bag
  • Several beverages

On the other hand, the following are vegetarian approved

  • The main majority of coffees
  • Vegetable deluxe burger
  • Pancakes & Syrup
  • Several Mcflurry options

Sadly, even in the US, there is not a good vegan menu, but this could change soonly thanks to the introduction of certain plant-based products like the McPlant that was previously discussed. It could be a matter of time as the feedback of customers that are asking for enhanced options is increasing at a fast pace.

Ingredients UK Mcdonald’s vegan fries

Altough we have discuss before the availability of this vegan fried in the UK, we decided to make an easy list with the ingredients on this fantastic product:

  • Potatoes
  • Blend of Non-Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Rapeseed)
  • Dextrose (predominantly added at beginning of the potato season)
  • Salt

As the website mentions, it also can contain traces of other ingredients due to the use of the machines or some products as oil in other mcdonalds products.

What About the Fries of Other Countries?

It is surprising to see that a lot of popular countries like Canada, Australia, and even the United Kingdom seem to have vegan fries on their menu while the homeland of this company (the US) has the worst kind of vegan options. For example, in the UK, the fries are made from fresh potatoes and sunflower oil, processed and cooked separated from any animal products. This has been more than enough to make them gain the approval of the Vegetarian Society, something that could not be even possible with the fries that are found in the US.

In conclusion, the great majority of Mcdonald’s fries are not vegan, but this could change in the near future as there are certain countries that are deciding to step ahead of the rest and adapt their menu to healthier and vegan options for those who want to try a different approach but can not live without their favorite meals at McDonald’s.

Similar articles

Leave a Comment